POETRY

The Distant Dream

Amandeep Ahuja
1 min readAug 30, 2021
Photo by Bruce Christianson on Unsplash

When the veil of the night falls,

And darkness still remains;

When the light beckons forward,

’tis the distant dream I see.

When the brightest star shines

And darkest hour pass;

When no sorrow remains,

’tis the distant dream I see.

When the world echoes joy,

And all arms diminish;

When brotherhood becomes soul,

’tis the distant dream I see.

When whispers become heard,

And nothing is concealed;

When freedom is restored,

’tis the distant dream I see.

When the world is all smiles,

And laughter blaring along;

When tears pour not,

’tis the distant dream I see.

When the chirping birds come alive,

And with joy spread their wings;

When none can rule to win,

’tis the distant dream I see.

When God speaks to humanity,

And humanity loosen ego,

When brother to brother is love,

’tis the distant dream I see.

So, the distant dream I see

Spells loyalty, love and joy;

As does the word of God,

Spells freedom again to try.

And as the world echoes

The distant dream I see,

So in my mind and heart,

This distant dream I dream.

The dream of all together,

And joy so pure, everlasting;

The dream of love binding,

That remains a distant dream.

--

--

Amandeep Ahuja

Amandeep Ahuja is the Author of ‘The Frustrated Women’s Club’. Buy a copy here: https://linktr.ee/amandeepahuja